Neil Crewdson – Interim Chair of Local Advisory Board

Lorrayne Hughes – CEO

Lorrayne is the successful and outward facing CEO of Cumbria Education Trust.  Cumbria Education Trust is one of the first school based MATs in North Cumbria.

Lorrayne passionately believes in inclusion and that all children deserve a high quality education – children are firmly at the heart of all her strategic decision making.

Lorrayne took up her first Headship at William Howard School in Cumbria in 2007. In January 2014 she was commissioned by the Local Authority to bring about rapid improvement in two special measures schools in Workington, Cumbria. One of the schools was removed from Special Measures within 20 weeks.  Ofsted commented on Lorrayne’s success in December 2014 “Your vision is clear: to build sustainable improvement across the schools for the long-term benefit of students and the Workington community”.  Following this secondment Lorrayne took up the role as CEO of the Trust.

Lorrayne believes in a school led system for school improvement based around autonomy and accountability. She was Chair of CASL (Cumbria Alliance of System Leaders) for many years and is passionate about system leadership and what that can bring to the school improvement agenda.  She strongly believes that schools are better working together and that collaboration can make a difference to all involved.

Faye Eldon – Headteacher

Stan Sanczuk – LAB member

Stan has had many years’ experience on the previous Hensingham Governing board.  He is retired from work where he worked at Copeland Borough Council in Grounds, Open Spaces and Horticulture for many years.

He looks forward to the next stage of Hensingham School’s journey on school improvement.

Paul Smith – LAB member

Alana Mackinnon – LAB member

Alana Mackinnon has over 20 year’s experience in Business Management in both private and public sector.  Whilst Alana’s background is not in education she is hoping to bring her experience and skill to support Hensingham Primary school in giving its children the best possible environment to learn and grow through education.

Alana lives in Whitehaven with her partner and son who attended Hensingham Primary school and had many happy years there, before moving to Secondary school in 2018.

Ross Cleeton – Parent LAB member

Ross is a professionally qualified Civil Engineer who has lived and worked in Canada, New Zealand, France and Poland as well as the UK on a wide range of projects. He has a strong interest in promoting STEM subjects and activities in schools to all age groups. Ross has been involved in voluntary youth work for 20 years and is currently a Beaver Scout Leader (for children aged 6 -8) for 1st Hensingham Scout Group.

Ross has lived in Whitehaven since 2007 with his wife and two children. His daughter attended Hensingham Primary, before moving to Secondary School, and his son is currently in Year 4.

Andrew West – LAB member

A Chartered Building Surveyor with over 34 years experience working in the construction industry for private professional practices in both London and Cumbria. Now heading up a long and well-established Cumbrian firm of Chartered Architects and Chartered Surveyors, who provide professional services on a wide range of building and construction related projects across the County, for both public and private sector clients.

Abbie Johnsen – Staff LAB member

Abbie-Louise is currently in her second year of teaching at Hensingham Primary School after completing her NQT year last year. She completed her training at the University of Cumbria and gained a first class degree. Abbie-Louise has recently just taken on the roles of subject leading PE and Geography. In her spare time, she is involved with a musical theatre society and teaches in the junior section. Within school, Abbie-Louise is interested in supporting children’s mental health.

LAB members in the previous 12 months:

Maria Hewitt – 01/06/2020

To view the Meeting Attendance Records and Registers of Interest for the Hensingham Primary School Local Advisory Board click the button below.